Home » Info » Last Blog Post – CCS

Last Blog Post – CCS

Researching Reality Internship 2016. Apply Now!

Researching Reality Internship 2016. Apply Now!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 111 other followers

Internship 2016


My time researching with the Center for Civil Society has come to a close. Though I haven’t updated this blog for around a month. I do think that this should catch anyone who is interested in my research up to speed. I have been working on the aspects of Strucutral Adjustment regarding the Indian Social Sector. Over the course of the internship I have been able to garner a lot of knowledge regarding this highly controversial practice.

Since I last updated my blog I have come a long way and have been able to better my knowledge on the issue at hand. My paper has, in my opinion, developed arguments for and against this practice, without making any sweeping value judgements that could possibly be highly contentious. Structural Adjustment in India as well as the case study that I did on the implementation of SAPs in Kenya, quite simply change many of my preconceived ideas on SAPs themselves. The effects on the social sector Kenya in the 1980s possibly demonstrate how India might have turned out had we not stuck with conviction to the roadmap laid out by the P.V. Narasimha Rao government in July of 1991. The high growth rates experienced in India certainly masked the effects that were experienced by those at the lower levels of society. This idea is quite movingly portrayed, by Amartya Sen and Jean Dreze, especially their work regarding hunger alleviation. It is certainly important for any nation to thus,implemented a two-pronged approach of not only tackling issues of human development and poverty “directly” but also through “indirect” measures.

This research has certainly has altered my opinions regarding Human Development and poverty for the better. The different facets of the argument illustrate how it is important to not negate the opinions across the isle. Though a lot was gained from the economic reforms of the early 1990s, it certainly stands that more could have gained through greater cooperation.

Leave a Reply

Researching Reality Internship 2016. Apply Now!

Researching Reality Internship 2016. Apply Now!

Internship 2016

